+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default I hate how looks matter so much

I hate how superficial the world is becoming. The only thing that seems to matter anymore is how you look. There's this douchebag at my school, every girl knows he's good looking. That's all he has. I'm in most of the activities he's in, and I'm definitely better than him at all of them. He's rude, he's boring, he's pretty dumb, he lacks self-confidence in front of groups. He's never maintained a relationship longer than a month.

Girls are all over him.

I'm one of the most intelligent kids in my school.
    I play an instrument at the All-State level.
    I'm 6 feet tall.
    I'm an Eagle Scout.
    I work as a lifeguard during the summer.
    I'm a 2 sport athlete and decent enough at both sports.
    I have a great body.
    Personality-wise, I'm somewhat reserved, but I can make people laugh.
    I dress well, running the board between jeans and a leather jacket and a cotton button-down.
    I practice good hygiene, shave every day (my head included), shower, all that.
    I have friends and people tell me they like me. I'm definitely not a social pariah.
    I have 2 full-ride scholarships to decent universities out of my state.
    Girls talk to me, but unless they're ugly, they never want anything more.

I have literally everything I could ever want, except good looks. Health, intelligence, height, personality, middle-income parents with a huge bank account that I'll probably inherit-everything.

Except girls. I'm just not attractive enough.

I feel even worse because I employ the same bias:
    I only focus on the pretty girls!
    I feel so bad about it, since I know exactly what it feels like to be marginalized because of an ugly face, but I do it anyway. I don't want to have ugly kids who will have to deal with the same insecurities that I have.