+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default I will be ok when I reach 30 yrs of age

Hi all.

I have been a member of this forum for quite a long time but I rarely post due to a vast wealth of excellent information already available from other members of the community. However one comment that I have read over and over is "I will be alright about hair loss once I reach 30 years of age".

I just want to say that hair loss can affect you emotionally at any age. Just by reaching 30 or 40 does not mean that you will automatically be "okay" about it. I have been battling this for over 15 years. I have been using fin for 11 years now, but despite this my hair has continued to shed and thin. I am not sure if fin has slowed the loss because it is so hard to judge.

When I was 20 years old I used to think to myself "if only I can see this through to my 30's I will be okay". Now I have reached my 30's I am thinking "if only I can reach my 40's with the hair I have left".

I now realise that I will never be at ease with hair loss and, if anything, I am actually more anxious and miserable about the affliction than i was 15 years ago. I think this is because I am losing faith and hope in the medication and have doubts to its effectiveness in my particular situation. It is starting to feel like a form of slow torture.

To wrap up I would like to say that hair loss is no less damaging to the confidence of older people than it is to younger people. I still find myself shunning certain social situations due to my complex about hair loss. I am still single and have the same fears about attracting potential partners as I read from younger members of the forum. Reaching 30 years of age is not a magic fix to this.