+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Question Important questions about cell based treatments!

Firstly, What are your guys opinions about how safe these treatments will be? I mean I am no scientist by ay means, but it would seem that they should be pretty safe seeing as they are using your own cells. But could these cells mutate for any reason? Would the body fight them? Could they turn cancerous or abnormal?

Secondly, if you have had a hair transplant, could that be a problem for these treatments?

I say this because, lets say you have had a hair transplant. New hair follicles have been placed on your head in a different position to where your original follicles were. Now lets say that one of these treatments manages to grow back all of your old original follicles. Now there may be a problem, because your old follicles are coming through next to your newer transplanted ones or on top of them!

This may:

1. Look odd because your originals will be coming through next to the transplanted ones which will most likely be going in a different direction.

2. Cause problems of regrowth. Lets say that some of the transplanted hair follicles have been moved to the exact spot where your original ones were. How is it going to grow back? It may even cause problems, not grow or cause irritation.

I think these are important questions, so I would be very interested to hear your thoughts on this

We just don't know, is the short answer.

Re safety, it's not inconceivable there could be issues, possibly even cancer. But so far none of them have reported safety issues, they've all passed Phase I.

Re transplants, my feeling is there will probably be a little bit of scar tissue around each graft which should prevent new follicles growing over old ones. According to the Replicel theory, the cells should migrate into an existing follicle is it's there instead of creating a new follicle anyway.

Quote Originally Posted by Pate View Post