+ Reply to Thread

Default Low testosterone and hair loss???

I am a 24 year old male, I first started noticing that my hair line was receding around 20. It was slow at first but during the past 18 months I have noticed a significant increase in the amount of hair I lose per a day. Along side this increased hair loss I have also noticed that my sex drive has decreased. I have always been very sexually active, I used to ejeculate anywhere from 1-5 times a day. But during the past 18 months I have been very busy, I'm now in a relationship that's lost some of it's spark and because i'm living with her I just don't get the opportunity or time to wank myself silly anymore and I avoid the sex as it is rather dull. I am also studying at university so any of my free time is spent sleeping/studying/going to the gym.

Anyway, I went to the doctor after a night shift and he checked my testosterone levels, it came back very low, I think it was 4.4 ng/l and normal is considered 8-28 or something in the UK. I am now waiting to have them tested again because he wants to do them when i haven't been deprived of sleep before he refers me to an endocrinologist. As you can imagine this came as a bit off a shock to me and it's completely put me off trying propecia or anything that's going to alter my hormones now.

If anything I was expecting the test result to come back high because of the increased hair loss, more test means more dht? my build (muscular) and the amount of body hair I have, are all signs of high testosterone right? My test is next week so i'm just playing the waiting game right now. As for treating my baldness, I think i'm just going to wait and hope that a safer more effective treatment is available within my life time.

Please share your thoughts and experiences.