+ Reply to Thread

Question Do I have to take propecia for life after a hair transplant?

I have a question for the doctors on this site or another expert. Assuming that I am a good candidate for hair transplant surgery, and everything goes well, would I have to continue taking Propecia for the rest of my life to maintain my transplanted hair?

While I am not a doctor, or a so-called "expert", I can tell you that the good news is that the transplanted hair will remain even without the use of Propecia. HOWEVER, one must consider the reason male hair transplant patients are typically encouraged to use Propecia: To slow down or halt the further progression of balding. In other words, your transplanted hair will not depend on Propecia, but much of your other hair may (if you are someone who propecia works for of course).

You'll notice that hair is always transplanted from the back of the scalp. This is not by chance that the surgery is done this way. It is this hair that is resistant to male pattern balding. When this hair is transplanted, it maintains that resistance to miniaturizing and falling out, even when transplanted to areas that have thinning or balding.

I hope this makes sense!

Quote Originally Posted by Plum View Post
    While I am not a doctor, or a so-called "expert", I can tell you that the good news is that the transplanted hair will remain even without the use of Propecia. HOWEVER, one must consider the reason male hair transplant patients are typically encouraged to use Propecia: To slow down or halt the further progression of balding. In other words, your transplanted hair will not depend on Propecia, but much of your other hair may (if you are someone who propecia works for of course).