View Full Version : Update on PRP and Acell

Dr James DeYarman
10-18-2011, 07:06 PM
I have been using PRP for two years with hair transplant surgery and Acell for the last six months. I inject PRP in the transplanted area after creating the sites. I soak the grafts in an Acell solution with PPP. I also place a 2 mm strip of Acell in the donor site before closing. I also inject Acell solution with PPP in the area behind the area I transplant. Recently on another post there were concerns on the use of Acell with donor closing in that it did not show any benefit and even some cases made it worse. I have found that it improves the results as you can see in the photo of the donor scar at only three months. Every patient that I use PRP that is having a second procedure, are amazed on how much faster they heal when comparing it to the first procedure where PRP was not used. For only three months the photos show a lot of growth but I donít know if it is due to both the PRP and Acell or just the PRP. I would like to hear from other patients that have had PRP or Acell with their hair transplant and what their results were.

Follicle Death Row
10-19-2011, 06:59 PM
I'm skeptical of some of the other doctors' claims about PRP and Acell reversing miniturisation and particularly Dr. Hitzig's claim that it multiplies the number of hairs per transplanted FU, but I do think Acell is could really help with robust growth and you would think that it could certainly have a beneficial effect on FUE yields as it helps to integrate the transplanted FU into the recipient site.