Bald Truth Talk - Hair Loss, Hair Transplant and Hair Restoration Community  

Go Back   Bald Truth Talk - Hair Loss, Hair Transplant and Hair Restoration Community > Men's Hair Loss > Introduce Yourself & Share Your Story
Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 04-07-2012, 09:34 PM   #1
Obama2012

Default Need hair loss advice.

Hi, I'm 33 and have been fighting hair loss for about 7 years. It's to the point now where it is starting to become more noticeable then what I'm comfortable with. I have been using Rogaine for about 5 years, and Propecia for about 2. I experimented with DS Laboratories Spectral products, which I'm starting to believe are little more the snake oils. I am interested in trying Acell + PRP Injections. I have been to two different hair loss clinics. One charges $1500 the other $2300. One Doctor told me they offer the service but hasn't see any evidence that PRP + Acell injection are effective. The other believes they are effect at stopping hair loss and at thickening little miniaturized hairs, but couldn't guarantee any results. Have any of you had any luck with PRP + Acell, or any other treatments? Is it possible to shed hair daily but still gain ground by growing more then is shedding? Any advice would be appreciated.
Obama2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 12:43 AM   #2
Still-Researching

Are you still loosing hair on Propecia? What is your dose?
The jury is still out on PRP/Acell - would personally not spend 2300 USD on this at this point. I paid a little extra to get Acell treatment as part of my FUE HT and not sure it made a noticeable difference.

The big 3 - Minox + FIN/Propecia + Nizoral is what you can use at this point, anything else is hoping. Ofcourse you can go to a top doc and get a HT as well, but that is a lot more radical.

Keep researching and you will slowly make up your mind. The best way to put it behind you is to get a short hair cut and continue to try the big 3.

Good luck.