+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default I wanted to share my hair loss story and thank you

Eleven years ago back in 1998 I was an 18 year old freshman in college and I was losing my hair. I had been losing it since about 16, I think but it was becoming very noticeable when I got to college. Styling my hair was nightmare and I was starting to get the comments from my friends. It came to a head one night when I was at a apartment party. We were all getting drunk and I noticed that this really hot girl was checking me out all night. I got up the nerve to speak to her and one of the first things that came out of her mouth was that I had the beginnings of the jack Nicholson thing with my hair and that she thought that was sexy. I know she was giving me a compliment in her mind, but it set in that night that I was going bald ,which sucked!

I was attending NYU in New York city so we always took taxies everywhere. That Saturday night, the night after I was told that I was going bald, I was taking a taxi uptown and the driver was listening to the radio. It was a show about baldness! That really freaked me out because it was like a sign from God or something. I asked him to turn it up and I heard this mellow sounding guy talking to callers about balding. My first thoughts were that this is a really weird show. When I asked the driver what show was he told me it was called the bald truth. I said you have to be kidding and he said no, it was a good show.

I tuned in the next week and called in. I am sure that Spencer does not remember me but he could not get to my call during the show and took it after the show was over. He talked to me for a long time answering my questions. He was very patient and kind. I began listening every week. It was easier for me when the show went from Saturday to Sunday nights and I went to meet Dr. Robert Bernstein in New Jersey on Spencer’s Advise. Dr. Bernstein put be on Propeica and the rest as they say is history.