+ Reply to Thread

Default Questions from a 20 year old worrywart

Hello, I'm new on this board, and I had a question.

So I hear frequently hear on those hair growth infomericals from someone talking about finding hair in the drain or on their pillows and such, which made me wonder, how much hair should one find in either instance to start worrying?

Also, my family has no history of balding on either side, except for my brother. But he used to bleach his hair frequently and dye it back a week later and never took care of his hair. Could this have affected his hair?

I have a mature hairline, but not really more than that (yet) but I don't know, I'm probably just freaking out. Anyway, thanks for any advice!

jlestrange,

I am not a doctor, but, from what I have read, it is normal to shed 50 to 100 hairs per day. I'm not sure how someone might keep track of this if they wanted to assess if their hair loss is normal (within this range) or beyond it. If hair loss is excessive, it should be easy to tell that one's daily shed is in excess of 100 hairs per day.

In my opinion, if you have any concerns about losing your hair and cannot tell if you are shedding more than the normal daily amount, I'd recommend a visit to a hair loss treatment doctor. A doctor can diagnose if you have male patterned baldness, and, if you do, then the doctor can suggest medication for you, such as Rogaine or Propecia. It sounds as though you may be very early in your hair loss (assuming you have male patterned baldness), and Propecia in many men works well with early intervention.

I'm not sure about bleaching one's hair and/or dye-ing it, but, from what I understand, hair itself is lifeless. What counts are the hair follicles under the surface of the scalp that actually grow the hair. So, unless your brother's bleaching and dye-ing was so traumatic that it damaged these hair follicles, I would guess that it did not have affect on his hair loss.

TeeJay

Cool